Of veggies and meat.

Posted: February 5, 2012 in Food

So, I started Weight Watchers. I know that some people find food programs “extreme” or gimmicky, but hear me out.

I am terrible at adding more to my diet. I can eat more mass, but when it comes to drinking more water and eating more vegetables, it doesn’t happen unless something else comes out. After doing a bit of reading, watching Forks Over Knives and doing a lot of thinking about my cholesterol, I had decided it was time to adapt a mostly whole-foods plant-based diet. Basically, less pre-made foods, more fruits and veggies. I had seen a lot of success with Weight Watchers in other people and after going to a meeting, I realized that their portions program would force me into eating more plant, since they are “zero” points.

I’m only on day three but already I can say it’s a success. I’ve eaten more fruits and veggies in the last few days than I probably did in all of January. A lot of water has been consumed as well (I have been peeing like mad!) and while I’ve experienced some hunger, I feel like that’s mostly because I had a really bad start. I think once I get the hang of what staple foods to keep in the house and have learned a few new recipes, I’ll settle in nicely and shouldn’t be hungry as often.  WW offers a lot of mass-produced pre-packaged foods but other than popcorn, I’m trying to avoid them as much as possible. I’m also attempting to cut out dairy due to lactose intolerance and knowing that dairy foods tend to cost more points, this has been fairly easy so far. I think the one thing I won’t leave out is greek yogurt.

So far my staples seem to be bananas, berries, celery, spinach, red/orange/yellow peppers, mushrooms, onions, broccoli, eggs, almonds, cashews, and greek yogurt.  I’m open to any other fruits or veggies that would make a good part of a regular diet. I’m obviously still eating a little bit of everything else I used to eat, just in stricter moderation.

After a couple of weeks, I’m going to see how I feel. If I’m feeling weak or like muscle recovery has taken a hit, I’ll have to re-examine my diet and consider my caloric and protein intake and readjust accordingly. I’m excited to see how the next few weeks go!

Leave a Reply

