I am going to kick my ass’ ass.

Posted: February 3, 2012 in General

So originally, I started this blog in 2010 to document getting into better shape and cooking. A series of family deaths occurred and I also had the stress of planning my wedding and buying a house – the perfect opportunity to make a million excuses and treat my body like crap. I’m done with that.

So, I deleted the few posts that were already here, because I had no idea what the blog was really going to be anyway. Now, I have a plan and I’m starting fresh.

At this point, I have been going to the gym 2 – 5 days a week to strength train in the gym at work and have been doing a little training at home. My weight fluctuated a bit for the first month but I’ve now comfortably settled into and have been maintaining at about 172 despite small but apparent (to me, at least) muscle growth. This last Wednesday, I enrolled at Weight Watchers and am working my way into a primarily plant-based diet and am slowly cutting out processed foods.

I do have “before” pictures, but I’m holding onto them until I feel more comfortable with posting progress photos. My starting stats are going to be a little shaky because I don’t have a tape measure, but expect actual measurements in the coming weeks.

Alright, so the important thing – what I must keep my focus on: Goals. These are both short and long-term goals. I’ll update them as I break them (obviously the weight goals will change as I break them).

  • Deadlift my weight
  • Bench 80 lbs
  • Squat 80 lbs
  • Start climbing regularly again.
  • Destroy a V4 difficulty at the climbing gym (might not seem like much to some but for somebody starting over, I have a ways to go).
  • Be able to do pull-ups, with proper form, by the end of 2012.
  • Complete a full mile run without stopping.
  • Bike 20 miles without stopping.
  • Drop at least three pants sizes and/or reach the 140lb range for my weight (I have no idea what is a realistic pants size, esp since I’ll be gaining muscle and losing fat).
  • Feel comfortable on the beach in a bikini. Superficial, I know, but while health and strength are what I’m the most excited about, I’d be a liar if I said I weren’t looking forward to the aesthetic benefits.
  • On that note, my butt currently looks very nice in jeans. I want it to look fucking awesome in a swim suit.

LET’S GET GOING! *flex flex*

Leave a Reply

